Google introduced the change yesterday for Google Apps users in their bid to make it easier for co-workers or business partners to meet without having to deal with messy accounts.
The way it works is simple: Google will give you a link that you can send to the friends and family members who you might want to chat with.
Once they click the link they’ll be asked to enter their name, and they then request to join. From there, you can accept their request and chat just as if they had a Hangouts account.
You can still control that participant’s fate in the call, so if you suddenly need to kick them out for whatever reason then that’s up to you they don’t have a Google account so there’s not much they can do.
The feature is now available, so if you have the need to use this then be sure to take advantage.